Blizzard Buys: winter blues & whites to reflect our 71.5 inches!

Over the last week, Philadelphia has been hit with more snow than it has received in at least 100 years. Some are happy about it. Others are not. But either way, many of us find a bit of extra time on our hands to peruse Etsy for wonderful local purchases. The following selection highlights local crafters, used by clicking on the “Shop Local” option on the left side of the main Etsy home page.  To shop for items from Handmade Philly members, simply use the search “Philly Team”. The important point is that we all support buying local, and often you can contact local sellers about drop-offs and pick-ups to reduce shipping costs. As the proprietress of Lilith’s Apothecary, I can tell you that I do this all the time!

Blue Ballon pot by Allisonsceramics.etsy.com

Blue Balloon Pot by Allisonsceramics.etsy.com

Allison Ostertag, an Etsian with several shops showcasing her multiple talents, showcases these lovely blue ceramic balloon pots, or vases, in her Allison’s Ceramics Etsy store.  As an ikebana practitioner, I’d love the aesthetic of these pots, not to mention the luminous blue tones that seem to suit the wintery mood.

hand-crocheted hat on a baby

Handmade hat by Irish Hooks and Yarn

A beautiful photograph can bring a handcrafted item to new heights. Add a gorgeous little baby into the mix, and one almost forgets that the hat is for sale. It’s adorable. It’s soft and sweet. And it’s handmade by local artisan and proprietress of Irish Hooks and Yarn, an Etsy endeavor that caters to those who seek out hand-crocheted hats, sweaters, and booties for children.

Mobile by PoppyandBean.etsy.com

Mobile by PoppyandBean.etsy.com

Poppy and Bean is a new Etsy shop that deserves some attention. Specializing in handmade lovelies for the home, this shop includes such beautiful fabric-art pieces as this ethereal mobile. Mobiles are not just for children, mind! I have a mobile in my own bedroom which adds another ~ shall we say, airy ~ dimension to the room. I think Calder would agree. This piece would look beautiful in many a Philadelphia home!

The Gathering by Moonlight Photography on etsy

I have a special place in my heart for pigeons. Why? I’m not sure, but they seem somehow an integral part of this landscape.  In any case, this haunting photograph jumped out at me when encountering Moonlight Photography, as did many other photographs in this Etsian’s shop. The proprietress features many highly professional images that are almost meditative in their still-life quality. Rather than finding oneself privy to a scene of human life in action, one finds a focus on rare moments of beauty, mystery, or tranquility.

Blue Glass Vase from the Wallflower company

Blue Glass Vase from the theWallflowercompany.etsy.com

The Wallflower Company, a one-of-a-kind glassworks is chock full of gorgeous handmade glass pieces made by proprietors Genevieve and Sam. Looking for an amazing wedding, engagement, or even Valentine’s gift? Check out beautiful glass vases such as this one in cobalt blue. Who doesn’t love blue glass? For those of you familiar with my shop, you might know I’m a bit biased 🙂

7 Responses to “Blizzard Buys: winter blues & whites to reflect our 71.5 inches!”

  1. Allison O.

    Wow thanks for the shout out! Sometimes you forget other people see what you’re working on. I’m really excited to finally have my ceramics on etsy!

    • lilithsapothecary

      Yes, i love the shape and color of these ceramic pots! I also found several photographs I really loved, so it was hard to choose 🙂

  2. Deborah

    I am deeply flattered and very inspired when another
    artist feels my work the way it is intended!
    Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

  3. Poppy and Bean

    Thank you so much! It truly means so much to be featured with such a talented group of artists! Everyone’s work is beautiful! That sweet baby pictured is melting my heart and could maybe even melt all the snow in Philly!
    Cheers:)
    Colleen

    • Jackie

      I really love Poppy and Bean! The concept that mobiles are not just for children really grabbed me. I think I will be purchasing one from you soon…so beautiful and unique. Thank you.

  4. Sue

    Thanks for including my baby hat on your winter blues & whites blog. The good thing about all the snow this winter, it means plenty of time to crochet!!!

  5. Genevieve

    Thanks so much for the kind words! I actually didn’t know you guys exsisted til just now—good to know there are others out there!

Leave a Reply

