Interview with Christine Fragment

Some of her work

What is your training in Art & Design?

I have actually never had any formal training in either art or design.  I started using Illustrator, Publisher, and InDesign at my office a few years ago.  I fell in love with it.  Everything I know is self-taught.  I’m now currently learning 3D modeling for construction management use too.  I can’t wait to move from my department to the other.  It may also help that my step-dad is a well-known artist (www.GeorgeMcMonigle.com

What significance does the name LilGriffin have?

Griffin is my maiden name.  Because of my older brother, all through high school I was known as Little Griff.  My dad & step-mom used to call be lil’ bit (and they still do).  I just couldn’t part with the name.  🙂

Tell me about your background.  What path lead you to what you are doing now?

I’ve been working with a local Construction Management company for the past 6 years.  I love it there.  My husband, who was my boyfriend at the time, had a brain injury back in 2006.  He’s been on disability ever since.  To save money on our wedding, I made our invitations, favors, and centerpieces myself.  I instantly fell in love with it.  I started making my own cards for people’s birthdays.  That led to invitations, which also helps pay the bills.
I use recycled or “tree-free” paper / envelopes.  I earned my Green Advantage certification through work (www.GreenAdvantage.com), which basically documents my knowledge of sustainable design, and energy efficiect products & techniques.  I have become quite passionate about recycling and using renewable resources.
Mini Card H #1


Of all your creations which are your favorite?

I honestly love the mini-cards, but they don’t sell well online (pics attached).  They usually sell better in person.  However, I love when I get to do custom work; which is pretty much any invite or save the date that I do.  The pickier the person, the more fun it is for me.  And I sometimes still amaze myself when I fulfill their wants / needs.


What are you looking forward to?

Right now – the summer.  Hehe.  This is actually going to be quite a busy year.  My husband & I have 5 weddings to attend.  We’re each in 3 of them, but not all the same 3.  I’m doing the Save the Dates and Invitations for 4 of them.  That’s keeping me quite busy.  Also, I have a niece or nephew due in the fall.
2 Responses to “Interview with Christine Fragment”

  1. RS

    Your mini books are lovely! Great interview!

    • Chrissy

      Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

