An Interview with Jen Roder of “Rotorcaps”

My husband purchased a wonderful little owl bottle cap necklace for me several years ago that was made by Jen Roder. I have found her jewelry intriguing ever since. She uses very cool recycled material (bottle caps) and turns them into colorful “pop culture” style jewelry.  Her jewelry is available at many venues: online, in a number of stores, and through craft fairs.

1. Please introduce yourself.

My name is Jen Roder.  I have been in the habit of making jewelry on and off since I was in high school (1988).  Believe it or not we had jewelry making courses in our school.     (I am so jealous!!)

2. How did Rotorcaps come about? How did the idea come to you to use recycled bottlecaps?

I was in Moriarty’s bar at 12th and Walnut and the bathroom door was covered in colorful bottlecaps organized in rows, and I knew I wanted to make something out of them. I was doing a lot of carpentry at the time and feeling bad about using all the trees so I wanted to be able to make a living doing something earth-friendly.

3. Is making and selling “rotorcaps” a full time job for you?

Rotorcaps isn’t actually my full time job, in late winter especially when there aren’t as many craft shows, I have to do carpentry and furniture making to supplement my income. And I eat a lot of beans and rice.  But every year I do more and more, as far as sales go. 

4. Do you have any tips for any artists and/or crafters who want to create a successful business?

My tip is to be persistent and optimistic about your work. Beg, steal, or borrow, and cast spells. (Don’t really steal it’s bad karma.)

5. Tell us about your studio space. Do you work out of your home?

I do work out of my home. I have an extra room where I do everything. I have a collection of neat old drawers that i have acquired from hardware stores and other places to store all my supplies.  I have my punch press to punch out the bottle cap images, my jeweler’s bench and my computer, along with everything else that is needed. It’s a nice space, really sunny and my cats keep me company too!

Jen’s website:

http://jenroder.com/rotorcaps.html

and

www.rotorcaps.etsy.com

This interview was posted by Carrie Biegler – www.budandbranch.etsy.com

One Response to “An Interview with Jen Roder of “Rotorcaps””

  1. read more

    I’ve been surfing online more than 3 hours today, but I never discovered any interesting article like yours. It is lovely price sufficient for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content material as you probably did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

