Meet Ang Davidson

1. Please tell us who you are, about your background and the origins of your Etsy shop, www.angdavidson.etsy.com 

I’m Angela, I’m 27 and I live in Center City Philadelphia with my dog Moe and 2 cats, Carrot and Rabbit.  I moved to Philadelphia from the DC area in 2000 to go to University of the Arts, where I earned my BFA in painting and drawing.  I always loved drawing little animals and characters, and I’ve been in love with crocheting since my mom taught me when I was about 10.  My crocheted stuffed animals emerged from those passions coming together.  I started making them about 3 years ago just for my own enjoyment, and I had a mini show of the first 20 or so pieces in the Art Ed Dept. at the University of the Arts.  I had such an amazing response from that little show, I knew I was onto something- that’s when I started my etsy site, and the rest is history! 

Mellow Yellow DreadHead

 

Small Turtle

 

Bug Eye Guy

 

Goaty Goat

 

2. What do you think you do best? 

Obviously crocheting, and I like to paint and draw.  Also I’m pretty awesome at Scrabble!  

3.  How do you think the internet has affected your business? 

I wouldn’t have much of a business without the internet.  At least 75% of my sales have been through my etsy site.  To date, I’ve sent pieces to 30 states and 10 countries- this would never have been possible without etsy!  I’ve also made numerous connections through my etsy site and Philadelphia handmade networking.  I don’t know how artists ever made a living before the internet! 

4. What is your workspace like?  My workspace is my living room couch about 99% of the time. 

workspace

 

5.  What are your plans for the rest of 2010.  

 I’m working on a thesis for my Master’s Degree in Art Education.  I’m also trying to get myself and my work out into the Philadelphia community as much as possible.  I don’t want to jinx it by saying too much, but I’m also in the process of getting my crocheted animals into mass production. 

You can see more of Ang’s cutie guys in Salon Ricochet on 13th in Center City and her etsy store. www.angdavidson.etsy.com 

Thanks for reading this interview.  Ang and I will be sharing a booth at The InLiquid’s Art for the Cash Poor annual party and sale in the Crane Arts Building on June 13.  Come by and say hello. 

– Jan, www.janzibar.net

3 Responses to “Meet Ang Davidson”

  1. Colleen Coyer

    Great interview Jan!
    I love Ang’s work. Every piece is really something to treasure. i hope you guys have a great show on the 13th:)
    ~ Colleen

  2. Heidi

    Love your work, Angela! I like Goaty Goat!
    PS: I love Scrabble too play it on my phone all day long!

  3. Computer Fan

    stuffed animals are very cute and lovely, i bet that most kids and even women loves them ‘:`

Leave a Reply

