Featured Handmade Phillyer: Meet Alyse Schulte

Alyse in Mexico City
Alyse is a graphic designer and currently runs an Etsy Shop called Random Lake. Random Lake sells a variety of items in the shop and all items are design and made by Alyse. Let us take a peek into her world.

Where does your shop name “Random Lake” come from?

The name Random Lake comes from a small town right outside where my aunt lives in Wisconsin. Not only is it a beautiful town, I felt the name described a lot about me and my design.

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself? Who are you and what do you do?

I grew up and went to school in Florida. I moved to Philly about two years ago and love everything about it. I am a graphic designer, I enjoy freelancing and all the people it has allowed me to meet and work with.
Why do you do what you do?
I love how stimulating all the creativity in my life is. I am always searching for new ways to express my ideas, which is what led me to creating Random Lake. It allowed me to design for myself and then share with everyone, instead of vice versa.
How do you stay fresh?
I keep a very open mind when coming up with ideas for projects. I love trying all new types of projects and if I’m stuck with a print design, I’ll move over to jewelry design or a different medium until my ideas make their way out.
How do you create when you don’t feel particularly creative?
If I am not feeling very creative, it always helps me to look at what other people are doing; a lot of times my inspiration comes from seeing what others are capable of. During the weekends, when I want to get away from my computer, I love taking day trips out of the city. I enjoy going hiking or exploring interesting places in the area. One of the last places I’ve been in Philly that really stood out to me was The Cliffs, (the house where Sarah Franklin sewed bandages for soldiers during the Revolutionary War) in Fairmount Park.
When did you start?
I have been designing as long as I can remember, but I started Random Lake in February 2013.
Where do you want to go with this?
A dream of mine would be to run a kind hybrid between a graphic design shop and boutique. For now though, it would be great to see Random Lake expand and become recognized in the community.
Brownstone Earrings

Brownstone Earrings

Adjustable Deer Ring

Adjustable Deer Ring

Who is on your Ipod?
I listen to a little bit of everything. Some of my favorites are Rilo Kiley, The Weakerthans, AA Bondy, and Wye Oak. One musician that can always motivate me is Buddy Holly, its hard to be lazy when I hear him. I also love a lot of different podcasts, including WTF with Marc Maron and Comedy Bang Bang.
Describe a real-life situation that inspired you?
A lot of historical sites and stories inspire me.The most recent project that I have developed has been dedicated to the USS United States. I’ve been keeping up with the news of the plans to destroy the ship for scrap metal if enough money isn’t raised over the next month. I designed a poster to help raise money to preserve the ship.
SSUS_Poster
What memorable responses have you had to your work?
I really love doing personalized projects. People are always so grateful and love to see their designs and ideas in motion.
Did you ever feel like giving up?
 My creativity usually comes in marathon sized packages. I’ll spend every waking minute for weeks working on things until every idea inside of me has come out. This usually leads to a period of time where I don’t do much in the way of designing or crafting. I have learned to develop hobbies that don’t require much room for variation to keep myself productive. I have taken up canning and gardening for those times when I just can’t work in the studio.
What is the first craft project you remember making?
I remember making my own play-dough with my Mom when I was a kid. The first part of the process, I remember thinking we were making cookies, when I found it was a toy, it was even better.
If you could give one piece of advice to a new etsy seller, what would it be?

I am a new Etsy seller myself, and I would definitely say put your all into it. Every time you have an idea, do it! You’ll most likely end up with an awesome piece for your shop.

Do you listen to music when you create?

I usually have music, a podcast, or the tv on, but it’s really only background noise. I usually in my own head when I am working.

Have you had formal training?

I went to UNF in Jacksonville, Fl for Graphic Design and Digital Media. My classes were really small and it was a tight-knit group.
Where do you live & how does it influence you?
I live in South Philly, just off Passyunk Ave. I have a small house with my boyfriend and I have enough room to have my own studio. Our house and neighborhood is a dream come true, we have great neighbors and a little garden on our patio. Being happy with where I live has definitely made an impact on how I work. I spend less time fantasizing about what I could have and I have started creating and working with what I do have. A lot of my work is inspired by the city and the different personalities the neighborhoods take on.
Alyse_ReadingViaduct
Alyse’s first craft show is going to be the 30th Street Craft Market on June 15th in Philadelphia. She’s very excited about it, so hopefully you’ll make a visit to her booth and let her know that you saw her interview on Handmade Philly.  You can shop with Alyse Schulte at her Random Lake Etsy Shop, Read her Blog at Made By Alyse.
Interviewer: Niesha Kennedy-Robinson is a lover of things handmade.  Besides being a wife and a mother, she is the owner and operator of Wee Bit Trendy, a small online shop that provides Handmade Faux Treats for Baby.  She loves DIY (why buy when you can DIY), and doing PR for Sharp with Art Group and West Park Arts Festival.
3 Responses to “Featured Handmade Phillyer: Meet Alyse Schulte”

  1. jemmalloyd

    You’re work is lovely, Alyse! I’m also vending at the 30th Street Craft Market in June. I look forward to meeting you.

  2. Alyse Schulte (@alyseelizabeth)

    Thank you so much!! I love your shop name, I look forward to seeing your work in person!

  3. Featured Handmade Phillyer: Meet Alyse Schulte » Indie Podcasting

    […] See more here: Featured Handmade Phillyer: Meet Alyse Schulte […]

Leave a Reply

