Slyvia Starlight: Toys for A Bright Imagination

Posted On July 18, 2013

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped one response

Handmade Philly had a chance to interview

Ellen Rosenholtz

of

Slyvia Starlight: Toys for A Bright Imagination

Iris and Hermes

Location: Collingswood, NJ

candle holders 027 What is your Shop Name?

Sylvia Starlight: Toys for a bright imagination

Where does the name of your shop come from?

The shop is named for my 3 year old daughter Sylvia.

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself? Who are you and what do you do?

I am an artist who creates natural toys and birthday candle holders inspired by my love of nature and literature. I also make custom birthday candle and cake toppers.

Why do you do what you do?

The birth of my first child forced me to slow down my life and enabled me to reengage with the natural world around me. Just sitting on our deck I was able to experience the changing of the seasons, became enthralled by watching insects and inspired by the minute changes in the landscape. It was a transformative time for me. I have always wanted to use play in my artwork and now I make art work for play.

How do you stay fresh?

Watching my children grow and participating in their natural curiosity really helps me stay fresh. We are a home school family that delights in being outdoors and reading books out loud. I take a lot of inspiration from the question my children ask and create things so they may explore their world more readily. I also get a lot of inspiration from the custom orders I receive. On my own I probably never would have thought to create a zebra or raccoon candle holder. Projects like those really push me to see what I can create.

Describe a real-life situation that inspired you?

My son was talking about wars and violence and I wanted to channel that interest into something more positive, so we began reading D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Myths . Then with his help I started creating a series of dolls based on the characters. I think this allowed both of us to develop a deeper connection to the stories.  This event exemplified for me how art and literature can connect us to  a positive transformative moment.

pirate

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

Failure is only in not trying.

Which of your handmade pieces is your favorite?

That varies from moment to moment, perhaps it is seasonal, but right now I think I am favoring a Peony Flower Fairy

What are you working on at the moment?

I had made a series of small tree spirits and then something clicked in me that said “trees are tall and majestic, so why are you making them small.” Now I am creating larger trees like conifers and oaks.

Sylvia Starlight Charms

Where else do you sell your work?

There is a play space and toys tore in Collingswood, NJ called Duck, Duck, Goose who carries my work.

Where else can we find you?

I am on Etsy at : www.etsy.com/shop/SylviaStarlight

Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/Sylvia-Starlight/371517546212574

One Response to “Slyvia Starlight: Toys for A Bright Imagination”

  1. Ruth

    What charming dolls!!

Leave a Reply

