Labeled Poise by Seonne Michael

Posted On July 25, 2013

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments Dropped one response

I finally got a chance to interview Seonne Michael, owner of Labeled Poise Bowties.  We originally met at a Sharp With Art Group sponsored Art Showcase.  Seonne was vending her bowties and my first thought was that they were very unique and I was impressed that they were handmade.  Plus, she was very approachable and proud of her creations. Check out her interview below.

photo(9)Hi, What is your name and business name?

I am Seonne Michael owner and artisan of Labeled Poise.

 How did you come up with your business name what does It mean?

Bowties are elegant, dapper, clean-cut, and most importantly fashionable. I wanted these qualities rendered with the name of my business and that’s how I came up with Labeled Poise. Poise means dignified, self-confident, good composure and this fits with the bowties. I want my customers to feel unique and look good when they purchase a Labeled Poise bowtie.

Where did I get the idea to make Bow ties?

I consider myself fashionably conscious and realize bowties were starting to become more prevalent in the fashion world, I was out shopping one day and I decided to purchase a bowtie and when I came across a few I liked I decided to buy them, once I saw the prices I immediately put them back. $80-$95 for a bowtie, this is a rip off, so that’s when I determined to make some for myself. Once I did that and began to wear them I received so much positive feedback that people wanted some for themselves. Thus Labeled Poise was created.

photo(11)

Are your bowties hand sewn or do you use a sewing machine?

Honestly, I use both methods. I want my bowties to last a great deal of time so I hand sew them after I use the sewing machine to ensure quality. Both methods work really well for me, and I haven’t heard a complaint yet, so I will continue to use both methods.

photo(13)

Who is your target audience? Do you only sell bowties for women, or are they for men as well?

My target audience or say age group is definitely my peers. Most bowties are conservative meaning certain colors and designs are used and their worn only on special occasions such as dinner parties, weddings, and evening galas. I wanted to stay away from traditional and focus more on elitism, and in this day in age we put so much emphasis on “being different,” “standing out,” and “being unique.” I believe my peers have taken this concept to heart and I too this notion and applied it to Labeled Poise, and from this I’ve created some dope bowties. But to answer the question I mainly focus on bowties for females but I’ve designed bowties for males and hope to escalate into more men’s fashion as I progress.

photo(12)

photo(10)Why do you do what I do?

I do what I do because I love it. I never thought designing would be a passion of mine. I always knew I was artistic but actually designing in the fashion world boggles me sometimes. I never knew I had a passion for fashion, I’m glad I discovered it at an early age and executing my dreams and sharing them with my city.

How do you stay fresh?

Google….I google everything, it’s my best friend. I google trending fabrics, trending clothes what shoes are in style etc. I also have a monthly subscription to InStyle, Vogue, and GQ. I like to incorporate men’s fashion and women’s fashion into my own personal style. I also use these resources to design my bowties. Very effective method.

What’s the best thing about being a handmade artist?

The best thing about being a handmade artist is seeing someone wearing my work. I put a lot of blood sweat and tears in my work and witnessing my hard work pay of is a good feeling.

What are some of the ways you promote your work?

I use all major social media sites such as facebook, instagram, and twitter. But my favorite method is word of mouth. I think word of mouth is important because it can spread like wild fire in a mater of weeks. If someone really likes my bowties they will tell a friend who can really benefit from my label. I’ve received most of my income by others spreading the word.

What are you doing when you’re not creating? What other hobbies do you have?

I hold a 9-5 gig full time, not my style but I’m not complaining. I do go out to events to get my name out there and to meet different people. I volunteer as much as I can. I play the piano and guitar to keep me sane lol, but that’s it. I really enjoy creating so that where my time goes when I’m not at my 9-5 gig.

Where else do you sell your work?

I currently have my bowties at Status Shop located at 327 South st here in Philly. Status is an up and coming street wear shop, other local artists have their work in the store. Great staff awesome owner and the products in there are worth every penny. Great work done by awesome people. Please go check them out. Support your local artists, and Philly support Philly. Also I have a small

booth located in East Falls. It’s a local flea market. Other artists are there selling their products. I guess you could say that this will be my home for my business for the time being. The flea market is located at 3747 Ridge ave Phila PA 19132 I’m there every other weekend starting May 11th – 12th I’m there with other great artists. Bring your family and friends come out and support.

Do you have any tips or inspiring words for others?

Time waits for no one, find your niche, find yourself, and find your purpose once you do that and then execute no one can touch you. Follow your dreams, if you don’t someone will hire you to fulfill theirs.

Be sure to check out Labeled Poise at the Flea Market on Ridge Avenue.

Visit her website:

Labeled Poise

www.labeledpoise.com

You can also follow Seonne and Labeled Poise on Social Media:

Twitter@seonski

Instagram: @Iknowu_seme and @labeledpoise

Facebook: seonnemichael

One Response to “Labeled Poise by Seonne Michael”

  1. frank kern bird finger report

    I was taking psychology in college and we studied the criteria to be anti
    social and Frankie had just about all those traits. Tiffany Dow is unusual for an Internet marketer – she’s not the money-obsessed salesperson-turned-Internet whiz.
    He has also appeared in USA Today, The Wall Street Journal and several hundred other publications.

Leave a Reply

