Kysaa – Pure Fashion

Handmade Philly got the chance to interview Kinjal Mehta, a handmade artist from Philadelphia.  Kinjal runs a shop called Kysaa – Pure Fashion. Come with me to take a peek into the creative world of Kinjal Mehta.

G1Where does the name of your shop come from?

Kysaa is a Swedish name which means Pure.

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself? Who are you and what do you do?

I am a freelance designer. After studying fashion design at Parsons Design school I started my label Kysaa.

Why do you do what you do?

I love fashion and I believe in living with style. Kysaa is my effort to spread pure fashion to all the beautiful people out there.

1-AB7_1096How do you create when you don’t feel particularly creative?

Whenever I am down, I look at the work of my favorite designers, go shopping take a day of to get some inspiration.

When did you start?

I have been into designing and fashion for about 5 years but I started my shop a year back.

Where do you want to go with this?

I want to create hi-end designer label that is all handmade and customized.

What memorable responses have you had to your work?

Wow, thats beautiful, how long does it take to knit that, you are so creative, etc.

What is your dream project?

To knit a couture piece, dress or gown.

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve been given?

To believe in yourself and to do something you love in life and not just with the goal of earning money.

Professionally, what’s your goal?

To establish a successful brand.

Can you describe the time when you first realized that creating was something you absolutely had to do?

I have always wanted to design; I used to design my clothes as kid too, so it has always been my thing to make something.

Which of your handmade pieces is your favorite?

I love all of them as each one is unique but my fave is the orange wrap and black shrug with back design.

1-AB7_1402(1)

What would you call your style?

Elegant, chic and sophisticated.

Did you ever feel like giving up?

Yes lot of times, as it’s been hard for me to spread word out of my work but somehow I always get my inspiration back.

What’s the best thing about being a handmade artist?

Your freedom and being your own boss.

What’s the worst thing about being a handmade artist?

It’s a struggle to spread out the word and so to earn a living.

1-AB7_1124(1)Any advice you want to give anyone starting up a business of their own?

It’s going to be hard but hang in there because nothing else will give you satisfaction than doing what you love.

What is the first craft project you remember making?

Making my first scarf for my Spiritual Guru, it gave me so much happiness and satisfaction.

What are some of the ways you promote your work?

I am a part of Philly’s Raw artist community, where I did a fashion show and was nominated for the Philadelphia Fashion Designer for the Year. I also promote social networks too. I have also opened my shop on Zibbet and Threadflip besides Etsy.

Let our readers in on some of the frustrations behind the work, or an especially difficult project.

The biggest frustration with knitting is you can’t go wrong, it’s difficult to get accurate fit. And since the whole piece is made from one thread, you can’t easily alter the design, patterns once made.

Where else can we find you?

Facebook- kysaa | Twitter @kysaak

Tumblr- http://kysaa.tumblr.com

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/kysaak/boards/

1-AB7_1431(1)

About the Author: Niesha Kennedy-Robinson is a lover of things handmade.  Besides being a wife and a mother, she is the owner and operator of Wee Bit Trendy, a small online shop that provides Handmade Faux Treats for Baby.  She loves DIY (why buy when you can DIY), and doing PR for Sharp with Art Group and West Park Arts Festival and giving back to her community by volunteering for different organizations.

4 Responses to “Kysaa – Pure Fashion”

  1. Kinjal Mehta

    Thank you for this wonderful interview!! 🙂

  2. Dog Technology

    I love the orange criss-cross knit pattern. That is a great piece.

  3. WeLove Shop from Portugal! – Procer

    […] Kysaa – Pure Fashion […]

Leave a Reply

